Signature Projects and Events

Celebrate! Lexington Community Breakfast

Former Mayor Jim Gray presents the Isabel Yates Community Champion Award at the annual Celebrate! Lexington Community Breakfast. Not only is the award named in her honor, Isabel Yates was recognized as its first recipient.

Isabel Yates Community Champion Award

In 2017, AIB Lexington created the Isabel Yates Community Champion Award to honor former Vice Mayor Isabel Yates for her unceasing work in beautification and historic preservation in the Bluegrass. Rather than present her with a plaque, a daffodil drift was planted in her honor at Wellington Park. The award continues to be presented annually; and each year a new section of the drift is added to celebrate that year’s winner.

Isabel Yates Community Champion Award Recipients
2019 – Liz Pattengill
2018 – Marcia Farris (posthumously)
2017 – Isabel Yates

Community Champions Daffodil Drift

Each Spring, guests of Wellington Park and drivers along New Circle Road are treated with a brilliant display of blooming daffodils displaying a wave of color along the hillside. The Community Champions Daffodil Drift began with a single planting to honor Isabel Yates. The drift grows larger and more lovely each year as a new section of the drift is added for succeeding year’s recipient of the Isabel Yates Community Champion Award.

AIB Lex community volunteers gather each October to plant that year’s addition to the drift.

Lexington-Fayette County Official Flower

Each year, we heard AIB and CIB judges ask, “What’s your official flower?” Well, we decided in 2019 to remedy the fact that we just didn’t have one.

After months of polling gardeners, horticulturists, landscapers and garden centers, we presented three possibilities for an official flower to the public in an open poll. When we had a clear winner, we proposed that winner to the LFUCG Council to be adopted. And they did.

From now on, Purple Coneflower, a drought-tolerant, hardy Kentucky native perennial will represent us as our official flower. Plant it this year!